FREDERICTON (GNB) – The names of the 2019 recipients of the Order of New Brunswick were announced today as part of the official New Brunswick Day celebrations in Pokemouche.

“As the province’s highest civilian honour, the Order of New Brunswick recognizes the important contributions individual New Brunswickers have made and are making in our province,” said Premier Blaine Higgs. “Congratulations to all of the recipients being named to the Order of New Brunswick. These exceptional individuals are an inspiration for all New Brunswickers and, through their example, encourage others to follow the same path of action and dedication.”

The recipients are:

Chief Patricia Bernard, from Madawaska Maliseet First Nation, for her outstanding achievements in uniting the Wolastoqey Nation in New Brunswick and for her work in the economic development of the Madawaska region.

Héliodore Côté, from Grand Falls, for his longstanding commitment and leadership in his community through volunteerism.

Michel Doucet, from Dieppe, for his extraordinary commitment to the legal profession and for his outstanding contributions to language rights in New Brunswick.

Léo Johnson, from Moncton, for his passion for social justice and for his commitment to protecting vulnerable people in his community.

Lois Scott, from Shediac Cape, for pioneering the establishment of a provincewide telehealth service and contributing to the well-being of all New Brunswickers.

Robyn Tingley, from Rothesay, for her extraordinary achievements in leadership and her commitment to women’s equality in New Brunswick.

Abraham Beverley Walker (posthumous), from Saint John, for his inspiring achievements as one of Canada’s first black lawyers admitted to the bar and for his commitment to civil rights in New Brunswick and across North America.

James Wilson, from Quispamsis, for his outstanding commitment to conservation in New Brunswick and his work in establishing the Point Lepreau Bird Observatory.

Claire Wilt, from Bathurst, for her longstanding service to her community and extraordinary volunteerism.

John Wood, from Oromocto, for his incredible fundraising efforts through his own John Wood Foundation to raise money and awareness for Duchenne’s muscular dystrophy in New Brunswick.

The Order of New Brunswick was established in 2000 to recognize individuals who have demonstrated a high level of excellence and achievement in their particular field. Since its inception, more than 160 individuals have been invested into the order.

The investiture ceremony will be held at Government House in October.

More information on the 2019 recipients of the Order of New Brunswick is available online.